Standard STP parameter configuration

RUCKUS Layer 2 Switches and Layer 3 Switches support standard STP as described in the IEEE 802.1D specification. STP is enabled by default on Layer 2 Switches but disabled by default on Layer 3 Switches.

By default, each port-based VLAN on a RUCKUS device runs a separate spanning tree (a separate instance of STP). A RUCKUS device has one port-based VLAN (VLAN 1) by default that contains all the device ports. Thus, by default each RUCKUS device has one spanning tree. However, if you configure additional port-based VLANs on a RUCKUS device, then each of those VLANs on which STP is enabled and VLAN 1 all run separate spanning trees.

If you configure a port-based VLAN on the device, the VLAN has the same STP state as the default STP state on the device. Thus, on Layer 2 Switches, new VLANs have STP enabled by default. On Layer 3 Switches, new VLANs have STP disabled by default. You can enable or disable STP in each VLAN separately. In addition, you can enable or disable STP on individual ports.